To every season there is a purpose

In Ecclesiastes 3 King James Version (KJV) the simple yet profound words:  To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: 2 A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

There has been a loss in my life.  One of my friends died way too soon.  Young, beautiful, loving, and fun.  She too was a farmer.  She was also a daughter, friend, sister, cousin, and mother.  Often we are defined by what we do for a living and to her honor she is remembered by the way she made people feel:  she never made a person feel forgotten or lost in a crowd.  She let you know just how important you were to her and she let you know just how important you are to the world.  What an amazing gift – imparting self-worth.

Today was a beautiful day with the sun shining but yet I was feeling bleak:  depressed.  My loved ones whom I’ve lost over the years overtook my thoughts.  Tears flowed down my cheek more than once as I was looking at the garden where all I saw were frozen, brown, masses of what were once vegetable plants.  Then Ecclesiastes 3 came to mind and it didn’t give me any peace.  I went on my business of gathering wood for the upcoming week.

I took a break from my paperwork later in the afternoon and returned to look at the garden.  Can you imagine just wanting to stand and look at brown decaying plants?  But I did because somehow I wanted it to give me peace.  I don’t know how long I stood there just staring.  In my scanning the garden I spotted a patch of green hidden under a clump of brown.  I cleared the plant and there were 3 small tomatoes attached to this green plant.  Suddenly I snatched those 3 ripening tomatoes and the words came to me:

A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

 

I had to pluck those tomatoes.  It was their time and without hesitation I accepted this fact.   Now I need to become real with myself and accept her death so I may mourn.  I pray at this moment that you have a bright and blessed week and the challenges you face be overshadowed by your amazing gifts…

Leave a Reply

